Giving Presence

It’s that time of year.

I love lululemon, but their videos are most wonderful. What’s most special to me is when someone is really there, listening and giving me all their attention. Nothing is more frustrating then to be talking to someone and you can feel them thinking about other things. Sometimes I just say, finish what you need to do and then we can talk.

It can also be me, for anyone who knows me it’s all or nothing. If I am doing something else or the television is going I won’t focus on anything else. In order to be presence I need to stop everything and actively focus just on that person.

In yoga we learn about mindfulness.

Mindfulness: “the intentional, accepting and non-judgmental focus of one’s attention on the emotions, thoughts and sensations occurring in the present moment”

Think about what it means to give someone your attention. Everyone needs that personal connection and it is now lost through technology. Give someone presence this year.

One thought on “Giving Presence

Leave a Reply

