Project Life: College Years Part 1

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

A big goal of mine over break was to finally organize the thousands of photos I had in my iPhoto library (over 30,000). When I was 16 I purchased a Nikon d40 and from then on my photo collection exploded. Now with the iPhoto, it is so easy to fill your phone with over 1,000 photos in a month.

What do we do with all these photos? Some get posted to my instagram but the majority sit on my computer was no use. Hard copies of photos is so important because who knows what will happen to technology is 30 years.

Then my mom introduced me to Project Life! The most wonderful way to organize photos in a simple scrapbook. The basic premise to clear dividers. I used the 6×8 album that offers a variety of protector layouts.Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Simple Steps to start a Project Life Book

1. Print your pictures- I made the mistake of printing all my photos at Walmart and assumed I could cut them down to 3×4 to fit the vertical slots. This was a big mistake. You can print your landscape photos because those are 4×6, however I would recommend printing from persnickety prints for the 3×4. It will save you so much time and you’ll have a better end result. For best photo quality I would recommend matte finish.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Persnicky wrapped the photos beautifully.

2.  Get an album- Michaels has a Simple Stories one that it not expensive and comes with lots of protectors. Studio Calico and Becky Higgins also have albums.

3. Start organizing– Start by placing photos and photo cards, embellishment, memorabilia.. whatever you have in the house. They have kits online and at Michaels you can buy.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I would highly recommend this to anyone who is overwhelmed with their photo collection. Start one month at a time and your album will be beautiful.

One thought on “Project Life: College Years Part 1

Leave a Reply

