Closet Makeover Part I

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

This closet, sometimes referred to as the ‘creepy closet’ has become a dumping grounds. Everything from my entire life has been collected into my small apartment after my parent’s sold my childhood home.Β The dumping ground however is no longer!

I will try not to be embarrassed in showing you the state of the closet and what (digging through boxes trying to find one small item) will do to the space.

Here it is… the BEFORE

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Steps I took:

1. Clearing out everything allowed me access and view to everything I had been accumulating.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

(Floors! who knew)

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Embarrassment to the extreme.Β 

2. I went through each box and donated or sorted and kept everything. I was extremely judgmental as I knew these boxes would have to go back somewhere and the closet would no longer be concealed.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The christmas box was easy I laid out what I had and packed it away neatly

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Labels on the top of the box with the main items will save the box from being opened too many times. Clear bins would the best, but if you are looking for an easy fix use masking tape.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Wrap fragile pieces in tissue paper and again label with masking tape, so in the future you won’t need to unwrap.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

My ballet clothing or things that should not be exposed to the environment can be placed in plastic bags. It keeps them together and sealed tight.

Currently, James who lives upstairs (and is a contractor) is working on making a hole in the wall from my bedroom into the closet. The creepy closet will now be a walk in closet/ laundry room. What a dream!

One thought on “Closet Makeover Part I

Leave a Reply

