Probiotics helped clear my skin

A couple months ago I started taking probiotics to help my intestines. Probiotics are basically live bacteria and yeasts that are good for your digestive system. A doctor recommended these for me and I eventually went to Wegmans (our local grocery store) and purchased the kind above. There are many different types and amount of bacteria. I chose 1.5 million and have been fairly regular about taking them.

Below is a picture of my skin before I started taking them. I was breaking out in little pimples that were stubborn and wouldn’t go away for weeks. It might not look like much but they would not go away. At the same time I was also suffering with allergies and or a cold that wouldn’t go away.

I can’t say for sure it was the probiotics but research has shown that it helps skin conditions and allergies and colds among others. This wasn’t a benefit I was hoping or even realized I could achieve from taking them. Once my skin cleared and my allergies subsided I tried to analyze what I was doing different, the only things I could associate it with was the probiotics! The idea behind it is that probiotics help reduce inflammation.

The connect between your gut and your skin– “The GI tract and skin are both organs of detoxification. We need a healthy microbiome in the gut to break down food, absorb nutrients, and eliminate toxins. When our gut flora is not healthy, and there are more bad bacteria than good bacteria, a lot of problems can arise — including chronic inflammation, which is a cause of acne and other skin problems. Some bad bacteria, fungus, and yeast can even cause inflammation in and of themselves. So, if you are looking to clear up your skin, you have to start with your gut.” –The Cut

Here I am with my sister, my skin doesn’t have any problems and I am finally free of my chronic stuffy nose.

Everyone struggled with blemishes and acne differently, but here is my story and what helped me.

4 thoughts on “Probiotics helped clear my skin

    1. Very true! I feel bad when people struggle for so long with it. It’s different for everyone and so challenging to know exactly what causes it. Thank you so much for your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

